Member / Vendor Login
Plan My Trip
Apeldoorn is a municipality and city in the province of Gelderland, about 60 miles south east of Amsterdam, in the centre of the Netherlands.It is a regional centre and has 155,000 (2011).The municipality of Apeldoorn including villages like Beekbergen, Loenen and Hoenderloo has over 155,000 inhabitants.The western half of the municipality lies on the Veluwe ridge the eastern half lies in the IJssel valley.Fred de Graaf of the VVD is the mayor of Apeldoorn.The oldest known reference to Apeldoorn then called Appoldro dates from the 8th century.The settlement came into being at the point where the old road from Amersfoort to Deventer crossed that from Arnhem to Zwolle.A 1740 map refers to it as Appeldoorn.Close by is the favourite country-seat of the royal family of the Netherlands called the palace het Nieuwe Loo (now Het Loo).It was originally a hunting lodge of the dukes of Gelderland but in its present form dates chiefly from the time of the then Stadtholder William III of England (1685–1686).The younger sister of the Dutch Queen Princess Margriet, lives nearby the palace Het Loo with her husband Pieter van Vollenhoven.Apeldoorn was a relatively insignificant place until the major building projects of the 19th century and those of the period following World War II.The Protestant church was restored after a fire in 1890.The Roman Catholic Mariakerk is a national monument.Apeldoorn possesses large paper-mills many offices (Centraal Beheer, an insurance company the Dutch Tax services; the "Kadaster" the government land registry service; and some more), a newspaper company, some hospitals and nursing homes. With over 80,000 people working in the region, Apeldoorn is one of the most important employment centres in the eastern Netherlands.Apeldoorn also has several important educational institutes, such as the Saxion University of Applied Sciences (hotel and facility management) and the Netherlands Police Academy.
Apenheul is a zoo which hosts a number of different types of apes and monkeys, some of which are free to walk around the visitors.It is situated at the western edge of Apeldoorn and can easily be reached by local bus 2, 3 and 5 (see Apeldoorn railway station, Bus Services).There is also an amusement park situated in Apeldoorn, called the Koningin Juliana Toren (Queen Juliana Tower). It is situated nearby the Apenheul and lies on the road to Hoog Soeren. It is called the Koningin Juliana Toren because of the tower, which was built in 1910 and was later named after Queen Juliana.The local hospital is the Gelre Hospital, offering secondary health care to Apeldoorn and the surrounding towns.Apeldoorn railway station is the terminus for the Veluwse Stoomtrein Maatschappij, a preserved steam railway that runs to Dieren via Beekbergen.In April 2009 Apeldoorn was world news, when eight people were killed after a man tried to attack the Dutch royal family during a Queen's Day celebration by crashing his car near the royal family's bus.Apeldoorn houses the professional football club AGOVV Apeldoorn (Eerste Divisie), that plays its matches in the Sportpark Berg & Bos stadium in the western part of Apeldoorn. But the most successful club in Apeldoorn is the SV Dynamo volleyball team, who are the 12-fold and reigning (2010) champion in the Dutch A-League.Because of the immense growth of Apeldoorn, and the population's interest in sports, Apeldoorn has built a new stadium for volleyball, indoor athletics and track cycling: Omnisport Apeldoorn.Omnisport Apeldoorn was host of the UCI Track Cycling World Championships in March 2011.
Apeldoorn has three stations Station Apeldoorn, Apeldoorn Osseveld Station and Station Apeldoorn De Maten.From Amersfoort station and train station Deventer intercity stops during rush hour four times, twice per hour and beyond Apeldoorn station.This Apeldoorn has a fast and direct connection to Amsterdam, Rotterdam, Schiphol, The Hague, Utrecht and Enschede.Between Zutphen and Apeldoorn station a train ride with a stop-the Apeldoorn Sizes. Between Deventer and Apeldoorn also runs a train still stops at the stations and Twello Apeldoorn-Osseveld.As of 10 December 2006 to stop the international train station in Apeldoorn back as to 1995 was normal.This has a direct connection back Apeldoorn Rheine, Osnabruck, Hannover, Wolfsburg and Berlin in Germany and Szczecin in Poland.Also driving this date trains Deventer and Almelo, on the new station Apeldoorn Osseveld and Twello stop.Also by this date the station Apeldoorn De Maten, located on the line Apeldoorn - Zutphen in use.The area around the central station has a facelift.The station itself has been renovated and is surrounded by a plaza and new bicycle and pedestrian tunnel.The station area was in January 2008 officially opened.
The various districts of the city are also connected by fifteen city bus lines: lines 1 t / m 11 and 15 t / m 18.The city service will be provided by December 12, 2010 at Syntus Ontario.This city buses, depending on the line and time, every fifteen minutes or half hour and always close to each other.Travelers can on weekdays after 09.00 hours and on weekends use the Syntus City-Ticket.This ticket costs 1 euro and is valid for a single trip up and back one hour during which you may travel or move.Trial runs since 2008 in Apeldoorn, 'The Whisper': An electrically powered fluisterbus the motors in the wheel are an invention of the company e-Traction Apeldoorn.
Apeldoorn is a motorway reach via the motorways A1 and A50.On the A50 between Arnhem and Apeldoorn and the A1 route between Deventer and Apeldoorn East in mid-2006 peak respectively plus lanes in use.By Peijs Minister of Transport these lanes open.
Jazz in the Woods
is an annual music festival in the heart of the Dutch city of Apeldoorn.The climax is traditionally the last Friday of the month of May, although the Thursday before and after Saturday activities.At various outdoor venues, but also in various bars and restaurants are live performances instead. Besides jazz, also pop and blues music will be played.The entire event is open to the public, and every year some 60,000 to 80,000 people attended.It is one of the most important cultural events in the city.The festival is organized by the Foundation Events Apeldoorn (SEA).The first edition of the festival in 1991, was called "Jazztival.
Palace Het Loo
is a former Royal Palace and present National Museum, situated on the outskirts of the town of Apeldoorn in the same district of Het Loo.Het Loo Palace is owned by the State ( RGD ) and ranks among the Top 100 of Dutch UNESCO monuments.The palace was the summer residence of the Dutch rulers and kings from 1686 to 1975.It was last occupied by Princess Margriet.From 1977 to 1984 took place a thorough restoration of the palace and gardens.The goal was to bring back both the original 17th-century state.For this purpose, several extensions from the 19th and 20th centuries removed, including the large dining room and bathrooms and changing rooms on the garden side of the main building.Furthermore, the white plaster of the palace removed so that the original brick again emerged.In the palace ceiling paintings and marble excavated from previous periods and retouched if necessary.In the device, the Viceregal Apartments of William III and Mary II in their original place on the first floor back.The other rooms were devoted to several former residents, where the visitor a chronological order is maintained. In the eastern pavilions will focus on the governors and their families, while the western quarters of the pavilions include kings and queens, and their spouses.
Apeldoorn Culture Under Roof
is a cultural center in the Dutch city of Apeldoorn, a public library, archives and museums houses. It was designed by Dutch architect Herman Hertzberger.CODA is an acronym derived from Apeldoorn Culture Under Roof.With debates and publications on social development and respect of art ( literature, music, film, visual arts ) CODA manifests itself as knowledge and information. Presentations that will show the history of Apeldoorn and surroundings.Hertzberger's design is the winning design of a competition by the municipality for an urban center uitschreef for museum, archive and library.Hertzberger has a U-shaped building located at the House of Fine Arts, where the training center for arts Striking the stage and cinema, and Giant are housed. Neutral of the House of Fine Arts was a condition for the competition.The new play space on the stairs of the House of Fine Arts.CODA is a transparent building where people can see through.CODA is a building with large windows making visible what function the building inside it.The dense black box containing the archives and the depot is in contrast to the underlying glass facades.Floors hang with rods under the 'box' which because of large spans the interior a more open character.
Dutch Police Museum
is one in Apeldoorn Zuid- based museum with memorabilia and information about the Dutch police.It originated from a large number of large and small collections in the past by various police forces and other organizations were housed and since the eighties of the last century, are gradually brought together.The museum has a large collection: about 100,000 realia (including about 50 vehicles) tens of thousands of photos and movies, archives and a library. From 2002 to 2006 the entire collection is selected and placed in an automated registration system. Important parts of the collection in this period also preserved or restored.Dutch Police Museum is closed to visitors since January 2007.Board and management commitment to the opening of a new accessible public museum.It is expected that this new museum at least 50,000 visitors a year will attract.The museum does provide information on police history of interest and is involved-for example, with loans from its own collection of exhibitions of fellow museums.Dutch Police Museum is a private foundation not formally part of the Dutch police, but strives to be more intensive and structured cooperation with police organizations.These include working on connecting the museum developed the expertise in collecting information about police heritage and history to the teaching and research activities of the Police Academy.
is a theater in the Dutch city of Apeldoorn.It is the largest theater in Apeldoorn, which also include more features Podium Gigant.Orpheus in the Netherlands is a well known theater and the performances of many national tours (from musicals to cabaret ) are there for a few days or increased.Orpheus was on 12 March 1965 and opened at that time was already known for its unique character.The theater had a very spacious foyer and a large hall (now called Hall Rabobank), creating a theater in the 1960s as highly experienced.The architects were B. Mugwort and GHM Holt.Though the building itself as a very positive experience, the original concert hall people were less enthusiastic.Especially on the acoustics of the hall had been criticized.The negative comments were more intense after a while and wanted the Gelders Orchestra in Orpheus no longer occur.From January 2003 until September 2004, the theater building was completely renovated and restored and enlarged under the direction of architect Herman Hertzberger.The spacious foyer and main hall of the theater continued to be held here.One of the main components of the renovation was to build a new hall, nicknamed Wegener concert and musical theater was.The new hall has 1300 seats and is especially suitable for music.The acoustics of the hall was very good and that was the criticism about the acoustics in the theater, Orpheus immediately disappeared.Besides a new auditorium was built underground car park for 450 vehicles.On September 11, 2004, the rebuilt theater opened.
Queen Juliana Tower
is a small amusement park, located west of the Dutch city of Apeldoorn (province Gelderland ).It used along with the Prince Bernharddal (an amusement park), the attraction of the area.Queen Juliana Tower takes its name from the 1910 tower dating to the theme is the Queen Juliana Tower, named after Queen Juliana.The tower has the status of national monument.The construction of the tower was finished in 1910.Second attraction came carnival mirrors.In 1940 was named "Princess Juliana Tower, changed to" Julia Tower.After the war, the name change reversed.After 50 years came from the growing audience of several attractions, including: cars, motor boats, a haunted house and Old Timers.In 1963 was the Prince Bernhard Dal a small tourist amusement park less than a kilometer away make room for the Watershed Apeldoorn.This park was moved and the 'Queen Juliana Tower added.In the 70's and 80 came with attractions including a roller coaster the park and grew into what it is today a small family amusement park with over 60 attractions.
is a specialized zoo on the outskirts of the Dutch city of Apeldoorn.The garden is located in the Nature Park Berg & Bos (200 ha).In Apenheul live monkeys from Africa, South America and Asia.The animals live a very free mesh or bars will be scarce.Some species simply walk around among the visitors.Others such as the gorilla's, bonobos's and orangutans living on large islands of natural behavior can be studied very well.During the winter months Apenheul closed to the public.Apenheul is from November to March.Because many monkeys released into the forest life dogs are not allowed.There is no shelter available.Apenheul is accessible for wheelchairs and disabled toilets at various places.At the entrance to Park Berg en Bos is a limited number of wheelchairs for loan.With a ticket for Apenheul has also access to the park and Mount Forest.Park Berg en Bos close the doors one hour later than Apenheul (from June t / m in August half hours later).
is a Church and Queen church in the town of Apeldoorn in the Dutch province of Gelderland.The church is owned by PKN and every Sunday for church services.At the site of the Great Church was established in 1842 a so-called Water Church built.This was in 1890 completely destroyed by fire. Two years later the company Chris Wegerif on the foundations to design a new church built in neo-Renaissance of the Rotterdam architect January Verheul.On April 16th 1891 put the then 10-year-old Princess Wilhelmina of the first stone.She lived with her mother, Queen Emma, the first church service on Sunday, September 25, 1892.Until her death, Queen Wilhelmina kerkte regularly in the Great Church.In 1960 the church was renovated and adapted to the style of that time.In 1970, in connection with the sorry state of the building, planned to demolish the church.In response, the Friends of the Great Church was founded.The purpose of this foundation was the building and the organ back into its original state.Demolition was finally abandoned and the church also received the status of national monument.
August - November
February - June
Information not available