is located in Mount Rhodope and is associated with two-kilometer long road through Asenovgrad.The castle has existed since the time of the Thracians and in the Middle Ages its position is strategic.The fortress was named after King Ivan Asen II.Church "Holy Virgin of Petrich" is the only fully preserved building in the fortress.In 1991 after completion of the overall restoration of the church, she begins to function as an Orthodox church.The castle is one hundred tourist sites and is open year round for visitors.Everyday tens asenovgradchani and tourists make the transition to the rock.The fortress existed until 1410, was destroyed by invading Ottoman forces.Hardness is one hundred tourist sites.Declared a national monument.It is open year round for visits, has a seal.
Museum palaeontological Asenovgrad
Palaeontological Museum in the city branch of the National Museum of Natural History, was founded in 1990 and boasts one of the richest paleontological collections in Bulgaria.Among the exhibits are the remains of saber-toothed tiger, tiger metailurus and dinoteriy.The museum's collection includes over 400 stuffed mammals, over 1,200 species of birds, hundreds of thousands of insects and other invertebrata, as well as samples of about one quarter of the world's mineral species.Today's National Museum of Natural History was founded in 1889 as the Natural History Museum of Knyaz Ferdinand of Bulgaria, with various foreign and Bulgarian specialists (e.g. Ivan Buresh, director from 1913 to 1947) being its directors until 1947, when the museum became part of the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences Zoological Institute.The museum became autonomous as a separate institute in the BAS system in 1974.In 1992, the Asenovgrad Palaeontology Museum, an NMNH branch in Asenovgrad, was formed.
Asenovgrad festive week
Like every city in Bulgaria every year is celebrated in Asenovgrad city holiday.The historic tradition of the city, however, no fixed due date, usually taken to date around May 27, but cultural events continue all week.It is assumed that this be done in the last week of May as the holidays run from Monday to Sunday, usually culminating in the Sabbath.May holidays the city show progress and progress in asenovgradchani combination of cultural and folk traditions of life and mentality of stanimaklii, to conduct numerous secular and cultural events, concerts, exhibitions, lectures, seminars, cycling march, many meetings and sporting events.The holidays represent the legacy of Academician Nikolai Haitov : "To keep the memory of Asenovgrad, as a key to our future."
St. Constantine and Elena
The city has a chapel "St. Konstantin and Elena", built in 1821, the According to the belief of that day, St. Constantine and Helena can restore the speech of children who can not speak or stutter.Of all children having this problem, the priest gives holy water to drink, which he places a special key that "unlocks speech." The key must have stayed overnight in water.When the child came into the chapel, it should unlock the door to the woman in the chapel, she immersed in holy water and puts it in her mouth as a child imitates "unlock".
St. Trifon's Day
This is one of the biggest holidays of the city, also widely known in Bulgaria.Visitors gather in the chapel "St. Trifon's Day", where he leads a festive program has stalls and loud music.Great spectacle pehlivanskite struggles are taking place every year on this holiday.Winner earns them a ram or ram.This holiday marks the end of winter and beginning the transition to spring.