Member / Vendor Login
Plan My Trip
Dokkum is a town in the Dutch city Dongeradeel and has about 13,000 inhabitants. Dokkum is located on the border between the Clay Zone and the Frisian Forests , in the northeast of the province of Friesland . Dokkum is also the northernmost town in the Netherlands and is one of the Frisian eleven cities .Dokkum is internationally known because in 754 Boniface near Dokkum was slain.On the origin of the name Dokkum several statements in circulation. Some think a combination of contraction and the Friesian man named "Docko 'here a yard or heim .Hiem' would have possessed. Associate with others Dokkum 'Tockingen "which is a settlement on a trip or power. Spellings for place names included "Dockinga 'and' Dockynchirica. Olivier Cologne preached in 1214 in Dokkum the crusade, anywhere Dokkumer to have participated. This history is by means of a crescent moon on the crest of Dokkum recalled.In 1298 received after Dokkum Staveren , Harlingen and IJlst as the fourth city in Friesland town rights.
Nearest airports to Dokkum are sorted by the distance to the airport from the city centre.
Leeuwarden Airport (distanced approximately 20 km)
Tok Airport (distanced approximately 23 km)
Ameland Airport (distanced approximately 25 km)
Drachten Airport (distanced approximately 25 km)
De Ridder Beauregard Parish Airport (distanced approximately 39 km)
City Hall Dokkum
The Hall of Dokkum is a town hall in the Dutch city of Dokkum . It dates from 1610. Today, no longer met the mayor and the alderman room.This occurs in the adjacent buildings in the Rue Royale. The town hall since 1984 Town of Dongeradeel .On 3 September 1607 the city of Dokkum decided to build the town hall. The bricklayer and mason Mockemahuis built by Jacob Lous from Harlingen had to be completely rebuilt city hall. The Town Hall was built between 1607 and 1610, was asymmetrical. Not exactly in the middle, but was also just the entrance. The large plaque was made of stone. On top of the tower was an octagonal lantern spire. On top of the tower was a weather vane in the shape of a ship. In 1717 it was replaced by a larger one. This was a place for a clock dome. The building was in Mannerist style. This style found only in the back in the Green Room with a fireplace. On Thursday, November 29, 1610 City Hall was in use.
The venture of Dokkum was in 1754 built as butter scales and replaced an earlier structure dating from 1593. The building was on the south side also housed the military guard. On the south wall is the weapon of Friesland between two lions. On the north wall (where the Arms of Dokkum on it) was originally a butter scales. On the plaque is the text "and weighs Watch", it says something about the original dual function as the Waag weighing and guard building.After the building lost the function of venture include been used as parking for hosepipes, police, ancient rooms and tourist office. Since 1998 the building was used as a restaurant.
The water tower in Dokkum was designed by architect JJM Vegter and was built in 1958 . When the design was considered a restaurant at the top of the tower. The water tower has a height of 37 meters and the water tank has a capacity of 1000 m 3.In July 2010 , this water tower designated as a national monument .
Great or St. Martin
The Great or St. Martin's is a church in Dokkum .The first church on this site was built was a church from the 10th century. Then there are remains of a church from the 11th century, and was third in the 13th century. The present church was built around 1590. In the year 1580 conquered Philip Count of Hohenlohe-Langenburg city Dokkum for William of Orange . This meant that Dokkum occupation of the Spaniards was over. Also meant that the Reformed Worship could be introduced.
St. Boniface Church
The St. Boniface Church in Dokkum is a Roman Catholic church dedicated to St. Martin and HH. Boniface and Companions.The neo-Gothic church was built, designed by Pierre Cuypers . The church was the second of the seven neo-gothic churches he built in Friesland. In 1871 began the construction of the nave basilikale cruciform and in 1872, though still unfinished, the church was consecrated. The church was oriented . The sanctuary was to lie on a square and so the bell tower in the corner next to the choir and south transept was built. This tower collapsed in 1874, but was rebuilt. On the west side is a smaller tower. In 1878 the church was completed. Restorations took place in the seventies and eighty . The church is a monument . To the interior include a Van Dam church organ in 1883 and from the studio of Mengelberg the pulpit from 1910, a high altar from 1876, and the side altars . The stained glass windows of St. the Fox in 1904 by Max Weiss, a student of Joep Nicolas , in 1946.
Information not available
Information not available