This is a branch temple of Haein- sa. The entire temple grounds have been designated South Gyeongsang Province Monument #114. Although reputed to have been built by prist Yon-Gi during the reign of King Chinhung (Silla Dynasty, 1392-1910), no records exist as to when it was actually built. The present temple buildings were rebuilt by priest Kim Pomil in 1959.
Jiri076 During the Joseon period, the nine-story pogoda was one of the greatest towers in Korea. Other structures, esoecially Taeungjon Hall, Sarijon Hall, and the Bell Pavilion, all have striking architecture and decorations. At present this temple is used for Zen-Buddhist meditation.
Jiri136 The 2 km valley leading from outside the temple entrance is a breathtaking combination of rocks and stream and has several scenic spots. Yongso (Dragon Pool) is where a dragon is said to have hidden for a hundred years before it finally ascended to heaven. Somaggol is where King Kulgong, the last king of Karak, subsisted on cattle feed. Wangsan (King mountain) is so named because a king climbed over its Mangdonghae (Lookout Hill). Tojanggul is where army staples were stored during ancient times. The trail along the valley leads to some of the most beautiful areas in Jiri-san including Mujadchigi falls, Chibalmok Cabin, Soribong Peak, and Cheongwangbong Peak.
These falls are located between Chonghak Peak and Paekhak Peak, about 2 km east of Ssanggye-sa. It is great waterfall, 60 meters high and 3 meters wide. The amount of water is constant throughout the year andt is used for ice ridge climbing in winter.
This gate (designated South Gyeongsang Province Tangible Cultural Property #127) is named for Kumgangnyoksa, the two guardians who guard against evil spirits entering the temple grounds. This gate has a gabled roof with simple brackets, double tiered eaves, and windbreaks on the gables. It was built by Priest Chingam-sonsa in 840, reconstructed by Priest Pyogam in 1641, and extensively repaired by Priest Kosan in 1979